FC Kairat: /

UEFA Youth League format


UEFA Youth League – global football competition for all under age players registered to the 32 senior clubs that qualify for the group stage of the UEFA Champions League in addition with 32 domestic youth champions.

First ever tournament was played in 2013/14 season and FC Barcelona youth squad became the first champion.

Current trophy holder is FC Chelsea, beating PSG in the final game 2:1.

Has to be mentioned that the main trophy is named after honorary President of UEFA Lennart Johansson, who is to date, the longest serving president of UEFA (1990-2007).


Competition system

This year 64 Under-19 teams will take part in UEFA the Youth League.

There are two paths of qualification for the UEFA Youth League:


         UEFA Champions League path – the 32 youth teams of the clubs which qualify for the UEFA Champions League group stage. They will compete in groups with the identical make-up and fixture list as for the senior competition.
The 8 group winners will progress straight to the round of 16.

The 8 runners-up will go into the play-offs


        Domestic Champions path – the domestic youth champions of the 32 best-ranked associations in the 2015 UEFA association coefficient rankings. They will compete in two knockout rounds of home-and-away ties. There will be no seeding.
The 8 teams remaining after the second round will go into the play-offs.

The 8 Domestic Champions path survivors will be drawn at home to the 8 UEFA Champions League path runners-up in one-off ties to decide the eight remaining round of 16 berths.


FC Kairat Academy currently a domestic champion amongst Under-19 youth teams and consequently will start its UEFA Youth League campaign via Domestic Champions path.

First round will be played on September, 28th